Mid-Atlantic’s Little Hats, Big Hearts

Volunteers around the country are helping raise awareness of of heart disease, the number one killer of Americans, and congenital heart defects, the most common type of birth defect in the country by knitting and crocheting little red hats to be given out through the American Heart Association’s Little Hats, Big Hearts.

The Mid-Atlantic Affiliate is proud to be continuing the program in 2019.  For more information about the program in your state see the contact below:

Maryland – Faye Brooks, faye.brooks@heart.org

Washington, D.C. – Shannon Klosterman, shannon.klosterman@heart.org

Virginia – Audry Dubon, audry.dubon@heart.org

North Carolina – Kacie Kennedy, kacie.kennedy@heart.org or LittleHatsNC@heart.org

Upstate South Carolina – Allyson Tesh, allyson.tesh@heart.org

South Carolina – Lizzie Smith, lizzie.smith@heart.org

2 thoughts on “Mid-Atlantic’s Little Hats, Big Hearts

  1. I first learned about the American Heart Association’s initiative, Little Hats, Big Hearts, last year from my daughter-in-law,
    Mrs. Fatima Smith My contribution then was nineteen (19) crocheted hats. In mid-December, when I found out the deadline date to have the hats delivered to the AHA for this year (2019), I bought some red yarn and started crocheting right away. The other day I finished hat number 31! I am so very happy, pleased, and proud to be a part of this initiative.

  2. Such a great cause which is very near and dear to my heart with loss of loved ones from heart disease. In 2018, I crocheted 15 hats. Then after my donation, I started making more. January 2019 I mailed 50 hats to the American Heart Association. Very good feeling putting them in the mail.

Leave a Reply